Plone Places Third in 2011 Packt Open Source Awards CMS Category

Award marks return to the top 3 for the first time since the PHP and Other Open Source CMS categories were combined in 2010.

The results are in for this year's Packt Open Source Awards, and Plone has been named the number three Open Source CMS - following Joomla! and Drupal.  The other finalists for the awards were mojoPortal and SilverStripe.

This year marks a return of sorts to the top three for Plone, which had previously won the awards for Best non-PHP CMS in 2008 and 2009 before the PHP and Non-PHP CMS categories were combined in 2010.

The award carries with it a $500 prize, for use in the continuing development of Plone.

Congratulations to the Plone Community on this accomplishment.

You can find out more about the award by visiting

About the Packt Open Source Awards

The Open Source Awards is a contest that aims to encourage, support, recognize and reward Open Source projects.

Formerly the Open Source CMS Award, the contest has been running since 2006 and is regarded as one of the most established platforms for recognizing excellence amongst Open Source Software. Prize money given out since 2006 tops $100,000.

To identify the excellence among Open Source projects, public votes for the finalists in each category were combined with ratings from a panel of Judges.

Packt Publishing has no influence, input or say in the finalists or winners of any Award category.

This year the categories were:

  • Open Source CMS
  • Open Source Mobile Toolkits and Libraries
  • Most Promising Open Source Project
  • Open Source Business Applications
  • Open Source JavaScript Libraries
  • Open Source Multimedia Software