Versioning (Plone v3.0 - Plone v3.2)
Creating a new version
Plone 3.0 includes a versioning feature. By default, the following content types have versioning enabled:
- News Items
Content items can be configured to have versioning enabled/disabled through the site setup / Plone Configuration panel under "Types".
When editing an item, you may use the "change note" field at the bottom; the change note will be stored in the item's version history. If the "change note" is left blank, it may be filled in automatically depending on the state of the item (e.g. if left blank the first time the item is saved, " " is used.)
A new version is created every time the item is saved.
Viewing the version history
Once an item as been saved, you can use the "History" tab to view the version history:
The most recent version is listed first and clicking on any of the column headers will re-sort the listing order.
From the "History" tab you can compare any previous version with the current version by using the "Compare to current revision" link in the Actions column. You can also compare any version with the previous version by using the "Compare to the previous revision" link.
The legend indicates that added content is in lighter green and added tags are in darker green; similarly, the lighter red indicates the text that was deleted and darker red for the tags that were deleted; and finally text highlighted in yellow has been changed.
You can also view the differences in the code by clicking on the "Show code differences" link:
Previewing and reverting to previous versions
You can preview a previous version by clicking on the "preview" link in the Version column for any particular version from the "History" tab; on the subsequent page, you'll need to either click on the jump down link:
or scroll all the way down to see the actual preview:
To revert to a particular version, just use the "Revert to this revision" link. A comment will indicate when an item was reverted and what version it was reverted to: