Why did my permissions change?
I configured a permission on the Security tab of an object in the ZMI. Later this permission has changed. Why?
Plone manages certain permissions through the workflow mechanism. In this way, permissions are automatically set according to the current workflow state of a content item. For example, in the default Plone workflow anonymous users can view a content item in state ‘published’, but not in state ‘private’.
Permissions that are managed by a workflow may be changed by Plone when:
- the object undergoes a state transition
- an administrator performs “update security settings” in portal_workflows in the ZMI (which should be a safe operation that can be performed at all times)
- states or security settings are manipulated programmatically, for example when you migrate to a newer Plone version